The Truth

August 21, 2012

…is all I plan to put on here. For no other reason than personal growth do I create this blog. A blog about the Life of an Idiot. That Idiot is me, Brian Wiegand. I will treat this blog like a diary, merely spilling my thoughts onto a page. The benefit of a blog as opposed to a diary is that a blog is much more…out there.  I feel more committed to it. So, that’s why you will only find the Truth on here. Because that’s all I can write. If I lie in a diary, I lie to myself. The Truth is all I plan to put on here.

As I said before, my name is Brian Wiegand. I live in Small Town, USA. This year, I will be a Senior at Gull Lake High School. That’s exciting…I think. I’m a runner on our Cross Country and Track teams. That pretty much takes up my Summer, Fall, and Spring. In the Winter, I act. My school’s Drama Club is called: The Gull Lake Performing Arts Company. And I’ve been a part of it ever since my Freshman year. Same with all my Extra-Curriculars. Except Student Senate, I missed Freshman year. Currently, I’m Secretary of the Senate. Which basically means my title makes me a target for many jokes relating to Bill Clinton. That’s beside the point.

Perhaps that was all a little tedious, eh? A whole paragraph full of guff about me. Well, this is my diary…I can put whatever I want, I suppose. I don’t have too much to say about myself. But, if there is anyone out there reading this, I should make sure they get the picture. I should make sure they understand me…if they’re going to read about the Life of this Idiot.

Earlier, I said that I act. Well, acting is a pretty huge part of my Life. It’s what I love to do, and it’s where I feel most at home. I’m not going to spout all over this blog about my skill level or how many shows I’ve performed…partially because it’s really not that impressive…but also because parts of those past experiences will become evident in time if they’re important enough.

This first entry was just supposed to be introductory and I will keep it that way. Stories about Life will come in time. For now, I want to establish a base. So I only have one more topic to discuss and I will be on my way…

This blog is all about the Life of an Idiot: Me. And I am a Superman in training. A Superman in training. Perhaps I have an unhealthy interest in Clark Kent’s alter ego…but I can’t help but feel a magnetism to the Man of Steel. I’m a Superman in training because I try to try my best everyday. I can’t help but feel like there are people counting on me. Maybe that’s the arrogant, childish, silly, foolish voice of teenage Brian talking, but I really do feel that way. And when people count on me to do this or that, I can’t stand to let them down. Disappointment from those I hold above all others  (my greatest friends, my coaches, my teachers, my parents) is the thing I fear most in this world. So, I try to try my best everyday. For everyone that I love. I’m a Superman in training. Maybe I’ll never get out of training, but I’ll certainly try my best.

So, there you have it: Me. An Idiot. A Superman in training. What follows in this blog will simply be my Life. But it will also always be the Truth. That’s all I promise.

Who knows, though? They say that there is much to be learned from youth. This blog may be the Truth about my Life, the Life of an Idiot, but maybe…just maybe, it will hold Truths for Idiots everywhere.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

Leave a Reply

