I’ll See You Later

August 30, 2012

Today, I had to part with someone really important to me. Someone who I spent most of my final High School Summer with.

It wasn’t: “Goodbye.” That’s what I keep telling myself. It’s: “I’ll See You Later.” And that’s important.

I had to say I’ll See You Later to Carly today. She’s off to Interlochen.

Interlochen, for those who don’t know, is a rather prestigious private high school for the arts. It’s located in Northern Michigan, a good 3-4 hours from our hometown. That isn’t necessarily a huge trip, but it’s enough to make her absence notable.

Carly and her whole family were important to me for a lot of reasons. Over the past Summer, I’ve learned a lot about myself; Carly, her family, and the group of friends I’ve found through Carly are almost completely responsible. High School has been a ride since day one and I’ve certainly learned something new every day, but I think this past Summer, my Last Summer, it was important for me to be with them…because, without them, I think college would still be this outstanding fear in my mind. However, after this Summer, it seems more…conquerable.

From Carly’s sister Erica, I received a revitalizing shock that revamped my interest in writing. When I was in Middle School, I couldn’t stop writing, and I somehow lost that as I entered High School. But meeting Erica and seeing that passion for writing in her has inspired me to write more. It inspired me to want to write The Pan Complex. It inspired me to want to write this blog.

From Carly’s mother Deborah, I’d like to think that I learned a lot more about what it means to be a man. Of course, I learned a lot from my Dad, but there’s only so much a parent can teach you, sometimes lessons are better received and understood from an outside source. Throughout my Life, though, I’ve never been a particularly masculine kid, but Deborah encouraged me to step up to the plate. She encouraged me to be more…present. To be more there. If that makes any sense.

And from Carly, I received care and compassion. Carly would never shy away from an opportunity to support me. Whether it was coming to tedious Track and Cross Country meets or encouraging me during PAC productions or just listening to an Idiot ramble. Everyone needs an outside rock, I believe. Families are brilliant at showing support but there’s always the knowledge that…they’re kind of obligated to. If you can find somebody in this world who will voluntarily show you support on a daily basis, that’s pretty special.

Of course, I still get to see Deborah and Erica all the time. Of course, I’ll still talk to Carly all the time. Of course, it is in no way “Goodbye.” And that’s what I get to believe. Because it’s true. So, I learned a lot from Carly and her family this Summer. I feel more…mature? I feel more ready to face college and the future. Because I know I’ve got this passion for writing. Because I know I can be a man. And because I know I’ve got Carly’s support.

The best part? That was only one Summer.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

Leave a Reply

