Gull Lake Victorious

October 28, 2012

 

Yesterday was our Regional Cross Country Meet. The boys and I ran well enough to qualify for State Finals at the Michigan International Speedway next Saturday. As you can imagine…we’re pretty excited.

The top three teams in every Region across Michigan qualifies for the State Finals. Yesterday, we came in second to Mason. Did we have our hopes set to beat Mason and be Regional Champions? Well…yes. Am I happy with how it worked out in the end? Of course.

The Gull Lake Boys Cross Country Team lives to fight another day. (The Girls do too…they’re Regional Champions.)

Gull Lake was Victorious.

Especially because we beat Sturgis. See, Sturgis is this team that Coach Portis has deemed our rivals. They’re pretty good. Before Saturday, we’d beaten them 4 out of 5 times. But they were ranked higher in the state than us. Now we’ve beaten them 5 out of 6 times. Finally, Athletic.net¬†realized we were generally the better team.

We’re currently ranked 11th in the state for Division II Boys Cross country. (Above Sturgis…)

So, we’ll be headed to the Michigan International Speedway in 6 days time to face off against the best Boys Cross Country Teams in the state…and that’s electrifying.

It’s especially exciting for me because I’ve never been in this situation before. Every other year of Cross Country, I’ve merely been a spectator. Freshman Year, I made the trip to Regionals and States to see Tim qualify and race individually. Sophomore Year, I made the trip to Regionals and States to see the whole team qualify and race. Junior Year, I watched as the team once again raced at Regionals and qualified for States.

For the first time ever, in my Senior Year, I’ll be lacing up my spikes and preparing to race at the Michigan International Speedway.

I’m kinda nervous.

Regionals went well…I just hope that States go phenomenally. There are some people on my team who really deserve to see all of their hard work pay off. We all really deserve to reap the rewards of our training. It will be my last competitive Cross Country race ever. Maybe my nervousness sprouts from my excitement. Who knows? With the adrenaline of the meet and the eagerness to run my last race…maybe I’ll break 17:00.

I can’t wait to take our rightful place on that starting line. I can’t wait to run as hard as I can for 3.1 miles. I can’t wait to taste the sweet fruit from four years of labor. I can’t wait to test myself.

Most of all, I can’t wait to have one last meet with the best teammates anyone could ask for.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

Leave a Reply

