How an Idiot Celebrates Halloween

October 30, 2012

 

I think Halloween is my favorite holiday…no…I know Halloween is my favorite holiday. And I can sum up my reasoning for this in four words…

I am a thespian.

There is nothing in this world that thespians love more than dressing up. (Except maybe actually performing in their outfits.)

I love Halloween because it gives me a totally valid reason to put a costume on…which is nice. But I suppose that’s not the only reason. I mean, there’s so much to love about this time of year: caramel apples, pumpkin seeds, pumpkin pie, pumpkin carving, Halloween decorations, haunted houses, scary movies, Halloween parties, Trick-or-Treating, Gull Meadow Farms (for those of us in Richland), doughnuts, apple cider, candy, red and orange and yellow leaves, corn mazes, cold and blustery days, warm and toasty beds, fresh apples, and there’s just an overall feeling of Fall in the air. It’s the season of beginnings.

I’d like to elaborate on some of the best parts of Halloween…

In Richland, Gull Meadow Farms is a huge part of every Halloween. It’s sorta like a…Fall festival extraordinaire. It’s run by a Gull Lake Middle School science teacher and her family. Every Fall, they set up this huge field full of games, activities, and rides for kids to enjoy when they go on their day out to collect pumpkins for carving. And when people get too cold to keep playing outside, they hurry inside the farm’s store to buy bags of freshly made doughnuts, jugs of apple cider, or any number of Fall goodies. The best part about Gull Meadow Farms for a High Schooler like me is that the workers consist almost entirely of my classmates. Which is cool. And when I was a Middle Schooler in Mrs. Wendzel’s class? She would always bring her students huge trays of doughnuts. Halloween in Richland really wouldn’t be the same without Gull Meadow Farms.

Ever since I was little, I’ve gone Trick-or-Treating. Recently, I’ve always gone with Jacob and Zach in their neighborhood. And it’s always been a blast. No matter how bitterly cold it would get, we would make a circuit around their neighborhood, collecting huge bags of candy. Just the boys and I, out on a quest to collect as many treats as we possibly could. This year, though…we haven’t made any plans. In fact, as sad as it makes me, I must admit that I probably won’t be going Trick-or-Treating this year. I suppose it could be a hazard of growing up. Or it could be a hazard of being too lazy to make plans ahead of time.

I love to be scared. I love the adrenaline rush that comes with pushing yourself so far out of your comfort zone that you could just…scream. That’s why I love haunted houses and scary movies so much. Unfortunately, I haven’t made it to any haunted houses this year. (More lethargy coming back to bite me in the butt.) But I’ve been to plenty in the past few years. I always love a good scare. Just the other weekend, I went and saw Paranormal Activity 4 with some of my good friends. We went partially because we actually wanted to see the movie, but mostly because this group of guys has been getting together for years to celebrate Jacob’s birthday by going to see a scary movie. And it’s always an unbelievable amount of fun. This year, I screamed at the end of Paranormal Activity 4. I was burrowed so deep up against Zach with my legs all tucked in tight and I still felt more scared than I think I’ve ever been. Those movies are just so immersive and if you really let yourself get lost in them, they can get pretty scary. So, despite my intentions to let Zach protect me from the baddies…I was still terror-stricken.

And…dressing up is awesome. Donning a costume and assuming a new personality is what I live for. Maybe my love for costumes sprouts partly from my parents. I feel like they’re some of the most creative Halloweeners I’ve ever met. My Dad went as a black hole one year. (That involved a lot of black nylon.) My Mom has been a pregnant bunny. Or there was the year my Dad was “One Guy and No Truck.” (Instead of “Two Guys and a Truck.”) And they did some pretty creative couple outfits too. One year, my Dad was a roulette table and my Mom was a slot machine wheel. Another year, they went as the two halves of a working door hinge. (They even had this pin that held them together, or they could take it out and split up if they wanted to.) Anyway, I think my parents love for creative costumes had an influence on Molly and I, especially because our Mom used to make a lot of our costumes.

In the end, Halloween is pretty darn great. It’s a holiday for thespians and it’s a holiday for those out there that love sweets. It takes place during one of the best times of year and I love the traditions that surround this spooky holiday. As of right now (and I don’t see why it would ever change) Halloween is my favorite holiday.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

Leave a Reply

