The Exam Hiatus

November 20, 2012

See, there’s a few problems with being a High School Blogger…

1.) The Life experiences that I blog about extend over a grand total of 17 years and most of them take place within a very conservative, wealthy community with extremely low diversity. (As you can imagine, I live a relatively sheltered Life. Most of us at Gull Lake do…) This means my frame of reference for the world as a whole is…this one very, very, very, very small town. What I’m saying is: I don’t always know what I’m talking about.

2.) My posts can be affected by the foolishness of youth. Sometimes my thoughts and feelings are generated through the idea that I’ll be young forever or that the world, of course, revolves around me or that everyone must think exactly like me, right? I feel like these things are just the effects of being young and I am plagued by them, like most of my peers.

3.) (The one that directly pertains to this post.) I struggle to maintain a balance between school, extracurriculars, a social Life, and this blog. Unfortunately for the blog, it often has to take the back seat because I try to maintain good grades, I try to get involved in extracurriculars, and I strive to spend as much time as I can with my friends in our last year of High School.

Next week, the week after Thanksgiving, is Exam Week at Gull Lake High School. Over the next two weeks, I will be in: Exam-Cram Mode

This means the blog is going on a Hiatus. The Exam Hiatus.

I hate to do it, I really do. I have a few ideas I’ve been toying with and I know what I want to write about when I come back, what thoughts and experiences I want to reflect upon…but they’ll have to wait. The next two weeks will be primarily dedicated to studying for Final Exams. (Next Friday, I’ll probably be taking the hardest exam I’ve ever taken in my Life and I am shaking in my boots. AP Chemistry may very well be the death of me. When we asked Coach Portis how long the AP Chem exam would be…he gave us the most devious smile and said: “Oh…about 27 pages.” If my memory serves me correctly, I think one girl was taken out of class in an ambulance after he said that.)

Anyway, I’ll be back at writing this blog in December. December 1st is the Saturday after exams are over…I’ll shoot for getting a post up then.

For now, I’ll stop wasting your time with this meandering post. I hope everyone has a Happy Thanksgiving.

I’ll see you on the other side.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

Leave a Reply

