Now is the Start

December 6, 2012

It finally happened. Today, the PAC call-board was updated with information on when auditions will be…and so much more. Now my fellow PAC Rats and I know when auditions are, what the play will be, and who the new director is.

Auditions are Monday and Tuesday of next week.

The new director is Ms. Stahr

And the Gull Lake Performing Arts Company will be putting on a production of…

Twelve Angry Jurors

Now is the Start

Honestly, I don’t think there are many things I’ve ever been so excited for. All I’ve wanted is for it to Start. And Now is the Start. It’s really going to happen. I’m really going to be partaking in my Senior and final year of PAC in less than a week.

I have no idea what kind of surprises the season will hold. With us not doing tour for the first time ever in PAC history, none of us know what to expect…But I’m eager to just…Start. I can’t wait to audition and I can’t wait to see who the Assistant Directors and Stage Managers are I can’t wait to see who becomes Crew-Chiefs and I can’t wait to see the cast list and I can’t wait to start rehearsals and I can’t wait to help in the creation of something we can all be proud of for the Gull Lake Community.

But it’s also a bittersweet Start. I think the PAC Rats can agree we’re all a little bummed that Mr. Nott retired. Of course, I’m sure that Mr. Nott wouldn’t leave the Company that he originated in the hands of just any ol’ schmuck. Ms. Stahr must be the right person for the job, or Mr. Nott wouldn’t be passing the torch to her.

So…here  I sit…eager. This might be one of the longest weekends I’ve ever experienced.

In the meantime, I’ve been brushing up on my knowledge of Twelve Angry Jurors. I’d just like to get familiar with the piece we’ll be working on this year. Amazingly enough, the whole script can be found online just by Googling “Twelve Angry Men” (Twelve Angry Men is the original title of the work. However, PAC doesn’t have a whole lot of guy actors…I’m guessing that’s why she changed it to Twelve Angry Jurors.) And there’s an old 1957 film version of the play.

From what I’ve read, the plot sort of goes…

Open on a courthouse! On trial is a young, 19-year-old boy…accused of murdering his father! A jury of twelve of his peers is sent into deliberation over whether he is guilty…or not guilty.

The entirety of the play takes place within the deliberation room. To start off the discussion, the Foreman (or Juror No. 1) calls a vote, to see if they might already be in agreement. Eleven of the jurors vote “Guilty”. Juror No. 8, however, votes “Not Guilty”. And…well, I don’t think I should spoil it…I mean, that’s kind of intriguing, right? I don’t wanna ruin the story for anyone who might want to see it…I’ll just leave it there.

It’s the story of 12 very different people coming together to decide the fate of another human being. It’s a story I can’t wait to help in the creation of.

And I won’t have to wait much longer.

Because Now is the Start.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

Leave a Reply

