Loud Music

January 24, 2013

Loud Music

You know what’s the best way to listen to Music?

When it’s loud.

Music, in general, is great. I can tap my foot to just about anything and I’m not sure there’s a genre that I can honestly say I hate. I can jam out to rock. I can bob my head to alternative. I can sing along to pop. I can strum my imaginary guitar to country. I can access my inner thug to rap. I can lose control to techno. I can relax to folk. I can clap to bluegrass…It’s Music.

But no matter what kind of Music it is…It’s always best when it’s at a decibel that shakes you to your core.

I love Loud Music.

Maybe that’s just the teenager in me saying that. Isn’t that a curious phenomenon? Here I am so sure that Loud Music is really the best…But I doubt I’ll think that when I’m older. Well, maybe I’m stereotyping.

I mean, my parents know how to rock it out.

Maybe I will enjoy Loud Music no matter what my age is.

Anyway, I’m going to try and get to the reason I wanted to write this post. I want to talk about those certain spectacular moments in Life that can never be recreated. Certain moments that are so unbelievably perfect because of their spontaneity that they could only ever occur once. I recently experienced one of these moments…And it was all thanks to very, very Loud Music.

It was late. Really late. I can’t remember what time it was exactly, but it doesn’t matter. It was cold, too. Really cold. I can’t remember how cold it was exactly, but it doesn’t matter. I was over at Brady’s house. We were over at Brady’s house; there was a bunch of us. And we were going to see Django: Unchained. (Great movie, by the way.)

So, we all piled into Brady’s van…There’s something you have to understand about Brady’s van…It’s huge. Like, huge. I don’t know how else to put it. It’s about a half foot shy of being as long as a short bus. It’s a Short-Short-Bus. Anyway, we were all in Brady’s Short-Short-Bus, ready to hit the road. As we left the neighborhood, Brady cranked up the Music. It was loud. It was earsplitting. It was other-worldly.

And that’s really when it started to happen. The Short-Short-Bus was packed full of the people I’ve spent my entire childhood with and we were all laughing and joking and talking and enjoying the Music…And I realized that I wouldn’t have this forever. I realized that I had to cherish these moments. I realized the clock was ticking.

I realized, once again, that I am a Senior. And this is a Year of Lasts.

So…I did the only thing that seemed right in that moment…I began to sing. No matter what came on the local pop station, I sang along as best I could. Justin Bieber, Britney Spears, whoever. It didn’t matter. I didn’t just sing, either, I got into it. I was rockin’ out. It wasn’t long before the car was full of Ben’s great voice mixed with everyone else’s subpar attempts at singing.

I can’t even describe the elation I felt, I really can’t. Moments like that can’t be described. Moments like that can’t be recreated. While that’s a shame, it’s also for the best.

Because Loud Music probably wouldn’t be special if we listened to it that way all the time.

Moments like the one I experienced on that cold night are special because they only occur every so often.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

One Response to “Loud Music”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    Beautiful story, thanks for sharing 🙂

    “If the music’s too loud, you’re too old” haha. There’s nothin’ I love better than blasting the speakers so loud, objects around you shake. hahaha.


Leave a Reply

