The Promise

February 16, 2013

The Promise

In my very first post on this blog, I promised to tell the Truth. And I plan to uphold that Promise…Even though there are times that I’d rather not.

While I’d rather not write about my audition, I feel like if I wrote about anything else today…I’d be lying. It’s not that I’m upset about the results of the audition, I guess I’d just rather not talk about it. But I’ve got to.

Yesterday, I auditioned for Western Michigan University’s theatre program and it didn’t go so well. I didn’t make the cut for callbacks, which meant my audition journey was over before noon. I suppose there were a few hours where I wasn’t feeling totally top notch but, in general, I feel fine.

And I feel fine for one reason: I’ve got no one to blame but myself. And while it might be easier to wallow in self pity, that’s not going to do me any good. That’s not going to help me become a better person. Instead, I’m busy planning for my audition next Spring.

Maybe the fact that I’m planning to audition again makes me delusional. Maybe it means I can’t take a hint. Maybe it means I don’t have quite the grip on reality that I wish I had…But audition I must.

I’m going to do it, I’m going to audition again.

Right now, the course is illuminated before me. Go to Western. Get involved in theatre. (An option still available, despite the fact that I won’t be a Theatre Major.) And audition for the Spring semester.

What kind of Wiegand would I be if I gave up the first time I was rejected?

My Dad proposed three times before Mom said: “Yes.”

So, for now, I’m going to take that rejection letter from Western and hang it up on my wall. I’m going to hang it up as a reminder that I’ve got a lot of room to grow, and I’m willing to put in the work that will help me grow.

I suppose I wasn’t ready to come out of training just yet. I’ve got more to learn.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

One Response to “The Promise”

  1. Kathleen McGlinchey Says:

    Not only is your Mom proud of you, but so is your Godmother and I can just hear your Grandma, Brian. She’d be saying, “never give up….go after whatever you want.” Behind every disappointment in life lies a rainbow, you just have to find it. Love you so much!!! I will tell you my disappointing story about my voice audition when I was an entering freshman at CMU. That didn’t go so well either.


Leave a Reply

