Goodbye, Glitter

March 29, 2013

Goodbye, Glitter

For four years now…I’ve been an MC for Gull Lake High School’s talent show: Glitter.

And I’ve loved every single year.

My Freshman Year, I was a scared little scrawny kid riding on the coat-tails of absurdly confident Seniors like John Jacobson. We did skits about Julia Childs and American Idol and…Cheerleaders.

My Sophomore Year, I was joined by one of my best friends: Jeremy. That year, there were eight MCs…And all were boys. That year, we did skits about Lumberjacks and British Men.

My Junior Year, Jeremy and I were MCs again. There was nine of us, that year. That was the year we pushed the envelope and made jokes about Jeremy being Lebanese. That was the year we had an MC Dating Game and introduced the Voice and that was the year Charmaine became the Glitter MC Coach.

My Senior Year…was an absolute blast. With seven Senior guys as the show’s MCs, I couldn’t have been happier. We had too much fun coming up with skits about Teacher House Parties and Sasquatch Hunting, about Girls Peeing and Canadian Men.

Every year came with new challenges and new excitements. Whether it was my Sophomore Year when we found ourselves without a Coach or my Senior Year where we had to…contain our outlandish behaviors, we faced difficulties. But the world of “show-biz” is basically one huge problem solving exercise…And I think, looking back over the past four years, that Glitter MCs have usually done a pretty good job of solving problems.

For four years, I’ve been an MC. For three years, I’ve MC’d with Jeremy. For two years, I’ve been Coached by Charmaine. But every year has been filled with immense amount of joy and (thankfully) laughter. Honestly, I couldn’t be more grateful that, for some reason, I decided to audition my Freshman Year.

Because being a Glitter MC has always been one of my favorite parts of every year.

Because it has been a great honor to be known as: a Master of Ceremony.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

Leave a Reply

