The Yellow Monster

April 16, 2013

The Yellow Monster

One of the single most iconic symbols for school: The School Bus. The Yellow Monster. The horrible metallic can filled with brown, rubbery seats and BO. Luckily, being a Senior means that you don’t have to ride the bus…usually.

Unfortunately for those of us in extracurriculars, busses are usually how the school decides to transport us precious cargo. Most recently, I was aboard a bus destined for Lansing and the Michigan Interscholastic Press Association (MIPA) Award Ceremony.

At 6:40, the Newspaper and Yearbook crews arrived in Mrs. Jolin’s room, ready to head out. By 7:00, we found ourselves crammed into our very own Yellow Monster. I sat next to a good friend of mine, Shelby. Both of us were exhausted and immediately began searching for the easiest way to sleep.

I think the creator of the bus did his best to make the seats impossible to sleep in. I also think that the creator of the bus succeeded in that endeavor. Shelby and I shifted into a million different positions and couldn’t find a single one that was sleep-worthy. Our attempts to find comfort rapidly became more and more absurd and I’m pretty sure we tried to stand on our heads at one point, to no avail.

The other problem with sleeping on a bus is that the shock absorbers are just Slinkies. Honestly, that bus was so bumpy I felt like I was gonna projectile vomit all over Shelby.

People say: “It’s the journey, not the destination.” This rule does not apply to bus rides. With bus rides, the destination is all I can ever think about. Thankfully, we did finally arrive at the MIPA Award Ceremony. I was on this trip as a member of the Gull Lake Reflection’s Newspaper Staff because this blog is technically part of the school newspaper.

Well, The Life of an Idiot was submitted to compete against other High Schooler’s blogs across the state.

And…it came first. Which is kinda nuts. I’m still not entirely sure if I believe it.

Anyway, the bus ride back wasn’t as bad as the bus ride there…My spirits were considerably lighter.

And you know what I did that night before I went to bed? I snatched up the certificate from MIPA…And I pinned it up next to my rejection letter from Western’s Theatre Program. I don’t even know why I did it. I don’t have a dang clue. I don’t see much of a connection between my blog and my theatre endeavors…But it just felt right.

Now I fall asleep every night looking at defeat and victory.

Life is good.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

One Response to “The Yellow Monster”

  1. Krista Moon Says:

    That is so awesome! Congratulations. You are an engaging writer, no doubt. Your cuz, Krista.


Leave a Reply

