The Evolution of Weekends

May 26, 2013

20130527-000916.jpg
Things evolve. They develop over time, they change. This weekend is my Last as a High Schooler. And because weekends are very precious to us in the public school system, I want to pay homage to all the weekends that I’ve experienced in the past 13 years.

See, there’s a very apparent trend in the way that weekends have adapted to our changes in interest. Back in elementary school, I remember waking up early with Molly every Saturday to watch cartoons. Both of us with a big ol’ bowl of Cap’n Crunch or Reese’s Puffs. We’d watch That’s So Raven, Kim Possible, an occasional episode of Power Rangers, Lilo & Stitch, all of that good stuff. Back then our priority was mindless entertainment. I suppose our priority is still entertainment, but we seek it in different ways.

When I was in Middle School, Saturdays were spent sleeping in. Those were the good days. The good days quickly evaporated when I reached High School. The instant Middle School was over, I said au revoir to sleeping in…even during the Summer. Summer mornings were spent at Cross Country practice. And when school started, Saturday mornings were spent at practice. But it was always worth it. I suppose I really would prefer spending time with the team as opposed to sleeping.

Nowadays, my weekends are spent trying to get out of the house. After a week of school, it’s nice to spend a night out at someone…anyone’s house. Or maybe at a movie. Or at a dance. Just as long as I’m with people. Real Life has become more entertaining than That’s So Raven or Lilo & Stitch. I suppose it always has been, it’s just taken till now to realize it.

The thing that always remained constant, though…was that the end of a weekend meant returning to school. It meant returning to Gull Lake. And now, well this is the Last Weekend where that will be the case. This is my Last Weekend as a High Schooler.

So, I tip my hat to Saturday morning cartoons and sleeping in, I tip my hat to Saturday morning practices and big bowls of Cap’n Crunch.

It’s been one heck of a ride.

-Brian Wiegand (An Idiot, A Superman in training)

Leave a Reply

